Academic Calendar 2019/2020


IGBINEDION UNIVERSITY, OKADA

UNIVERSITY CALENDAR

2019/2020 ACADEMIC SESSION

FIRST SEMESTER

DATE EVENT
Wednesday, 11th September, 2019 Honourable Chancellor’s Birthday
Saturday, 28th September, 2019 Fresh Students Come into Residence
Monday, 30th September, 2019 Orientation for Fresh Students
Tuesday, 1st October, 2019 National Independence Day
Wednesday 2nd October–Thursday 3rd October 2019 Orientation for Fresh Students Continue
Wednesday 2nd October – Friday 4th October, 2019 One-Stop-Shop Registration for Fresh Students
Thursday, 3rd October, 2019 Senate Meeting
Saturday,5th October, 2019 Returning Student, come into Residence
Monday, 7TH October, 2019 Lectures Begin for Fresh Students
Monday, 7th October- Friday 11th October 2019 One-Stop-Shop Registration for returning students
Wednesday, 9th October, 2019 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee Meeting
Monday, 14th October, 2019 Lectures Begin for Returning Students
Monday, 14th October -Monday,21st October, 2019 Late Registration Begins for all Students (with Penalty fee of N50,000.00)
Monday, 21st October, 2019 College Board Meetings
Monday, 21st October, 2019 Student Disciplinary Committee Meeting
Monday, 21st – Wednesday, 23rd October, 2019 Continuous Assessment I
Wednesday, 23rd October, 2019 Students Consultative Forum
Wednesday, 30th October, 2019 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
Thursday, 7th November, 2019 Senate Meeting
**Friday, 8th November, 2019 Late Orientation for Fresh Students
Monday, 11th November, 2019 Students Disciplinary Committee
Thursday, 14th November, 2019 Inaugural Lecture
Thursday, 28th November, 2019 17th Convocation Lecture
Friday, 29th November, 2019 Award of First Degrees / Graduation Dinner
Saturday, 30th November, 2019 Award of Higher Degrees/Conferment of Honorary Degrees
Monday, 2nd December, 2019 Students Consultative Forum
Tuesday, 3rd -Thursday, 12th December, 2019 Mid-Semester Examinations (This MUST be conducted using the CBT Evaluation System)
Thursday 5th December, 2019 Senate Meeting
Thursday 12th December, 2019 University Service of Nine lessons and carols
Students Consultative forum
Wednesday, 18th December, 2019 University Closes for Christmas
Thursday, 2nd January, 2020 University Re-opens
Lectures Resume
College Board Meetings
Friday, 3rd January, 2020 University Day of prayer
Friday, 3rd January, 2020 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
**Monday, 6th January, 2020 Pre-Matriculation Orientation Programme
Friday 10th January, 2020 University Lecture
Saturday, 11th January, 2020 21st Matriculation ceremony/Parents Consultative Forum
Thursday, 16th January, 2020 College Board Meetings/ Inaugural lecture
Friday, 31st January, 2020 Lectures End for first semester
Thursday, 6th February, 2020 Senate Meeting
Monday 10th February – Friday 14th February, 2020 First Semester GST Examinations(Including CSP & ESP)
Monday, 17th February, 2020 First Semester Examinations Continue
Thursday 6th February, 2020 Adverts for Admission into undergraduate & Postgraduate Programme
Friday, 28th February, 2020 First Semester Examination End
Saturday,29th February, 2020 First Semester Vacation
Monday, 2nd March, 2020 Student Disciplinary Committee for first Semester Examinations
Thursday,12th March, 2020 College Boards meeting for First Semester Results

SECOND SEMESTER

DATE EVENT
Friday, 13th March, 2020 Students Return for Second Semester
Monday, 16th March, 2020 Lectures Begin
Student Disciplinary Committee
Tuesday, 17th March, 2020 Senate Examinations and Ethics Committee on First Semester Examination Results
Wednesday 18th March, 2020 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
Thursday, 19th March, 2020 Senate Meeting to Consider First Semester Examination Results
Monday, 23rd March, 2020 Continuous Assessment II
Wednesday, 25th March, 2020 Students Consultative Forum
Friday, 27th March, 2020 University Lecture
Thursday, 2nd April, 2020 Senate Meeting
Wednesday, 8th April, 2020 Student Disciplinary Committee
**Friday 10th April- Monday 13th April, 2020 Easter Break
Tuesday,14th April, 2020 Lectures Resume
Wednesday, 22nd April, 2020 Students Consultative Forum
Thursday, 23rd April, 2020 Call for Staff Appraisals and Promotions
College Board Meetings
Friday, 1st May, 2020 National Workers’ Day
Monday, 4th May-Wednesday 13th May,2020 Mid-Semester Examinations CBT( GST, CSP & EPS)
Thursday, 7th May, 2020 Senate Meeting
Thursday, 7th May, 2020 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
Sunday, 10th May, 2020 Foundation Day/ University Thanksgiving
Monday, 11th May, 2020 Foundation Day Lecture
Tuesday, 12th May, 2020 Student Disciplinary Committee
Wednesday, 13th May, 2020 Application for Postgraduate Programmes Closes
Thursday, 14th May, 2020 College Board Meetings
Thursday,21st May, 2020 Inaugural Lecture
Wednesday, 27th May, 2020 Students Consultative Forum
Friday, 29th May, 2020 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
Thursday, 4th June, 2020 Senate Meeting
Friday, 5th June, 2020 Second Semester Lectures End
Tuesday, 9th – Friday 12th June, 2020 Second Semester GST Examination (Including CSP & EPS)
Monday, 15th June, 2020 Second Semester Examinations Continues
Students Disciplinary Committee
Friday, 26th June, 2020 Second Semester Examinations Ends
Saturday, 27th June, 2020 Long Vacation Begins (Except for a Category of Students in College of Health Sciences)
Wednesday, 1st July, 2020 Students Disciplinary Committee for Second Semester Examinations
Friday, 10th July, 2020 College Board Meet to Consider Second Semester Results
Monday, 6th July-Friday,31st July,2020 Make-up Examinations Session I
Wednesday, 22nd July, 2020 Senate Exams and Ethics Committee on Second Semester Examination Results
Thursday, 23rd July, 2020 Senate Meets to Consider Second Semester Results
Saturday, 25th July, 2020 Screening for Undergraduate Admissions
Monday, 27th July, 2020 Students Disciplinary Committee
Monday, 3rd August – Friday 26 August,2020 Make-up Examinations Session II
Monday 5th August 2020 Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
Saturday, 22nd August – Monday, 21st September, 2020 Industrial Training for Engineering Students
Monday, 24th August, 2020 Students Disciplinary Committee for Make-Up Exam
Thursday, 3rd September, 2020 Special Senate
Monday, 7th September , 2020 Senate Exams & Ethics Committee to consider Make-up Results
Thursday, 10th September, 2020 Honourable Chancellor’s Birthday Lecture
Friday, 11th September, 2020 Honourable Chancellor’s Birthday
Thursday, 17th September, 2020 Senate Meeting to Consider Make-up Exam Results
Thursday, 24th September, 2020 University Lecture
Saturday, 26th September, 2020 Fresh Students come into Residence for First Semester 2020/2021

NOTES:

1st Semester

13 Weeks of Lecture

2 Weeks of Examination

2nd Semester

13 Weeks of Lecture

2 Weeks of Examinations

2 Weeks Holidays before Make-Up Programme.

Make-up Examinations Programme

4 weeks for Lectures/ Examination

5 weeks of Holidays after Make-Up Programme.

Key

** – Tentative Date